The Spire of Lloyd
The Spire of Lloyd was built in 1791 by the First Earl of Bective. It is 30m tall and provides spectacular views of the surrounding countryside. It is a folly lighthouse, thought to have been built to provide work for local people during the Great Famine. The Spire of Lloyd is located on the Oldcastle Road out of Kells and is open on public and bank holidays.
This iconic structure has welcomed visitors and returning Kells people for over 200 years. It’s a magical sight that appears on the horizon making you feel like home is within reach after a long journey.
St. Colmcille’s House
St. Colmcille's House is thought to have been built in the 11th Century as a place to house the relics of St. Colmcille, including The Book of Kells. It could also have been a scriptorium where The Book of Kells was finished following the destruction of Iona Monastery in Scotland. The house is on Church Lane, near St. Columba's Church. Guided tours can be arranged from the Old Courthouse Tourism Hub.
This incredible building is testament to the creative past of Kells and a symbol of a new generation embracing their roots in the town.
The South Cross
The South Cross is the oldest of the High Crosses in Kells. It can be found in the grounds of St. Columba’s Church, near the Round Tower.
The intricate design and masonry was used to depict scenes from the Bible in a way that was publicly accessible, as manuscripts at the time, such as The Book of Kells, were protected as precious items.
The east face of the cross depicts Adam and Eve in the Garden of Eden, Cain slaying Abel, the three children being thrown into the furnace, Daniel in the lions’ den and the raven bringing bread to St. Paul and St. Anthony.
These designs have inspired generations and are a timeless symbol of design drawing upon our Celtic roots in Ireland.
The Cross of Kells
The Cross of Kells is thought to have been made in the 9th Century.
The east face is featured in this photograph, which depicts Daniel in the lion’s den in the centre of the head. To the left is the sacrifice of Isaac, to the right is the temptation of St. Anthony. Below are Adam and Eve on the left with Cain slaying Abel on the right. The centre is thought to be Christ or perhaps David or Goliath. Below this, just above the Celtic swirl design, is the tomb of Jesus.
The Cross of Kells is held close to the hearts of all from Kells and is a strong symbol of our shared culture. Visitors to the town can also trace generations and explore the area from the Old Courthouse Tourism Hub nearby.
The Broken Cross
The Broken Cross is one of the five original high crosses. The cross may have been used to keep the stories of the Bible accessible to the public while The Book Of Kells was carefully protected inside the monastery. It represents ancient Ireland’s storytelling tradition and it’s influence on design and culture throughout Europe.
On the West Face we see Adam and Eve in the Garden of Eden, Noah’s Ark, Moses turning the waters of Egypt into blood, the pillar of fire and the passage of the Israelites through the Red Sea.
The Broken Cross is located in the grounds of Columba’s Church, Kells. It may have been broken by Cromwell’s army who used the church as a stables when occupying Kells.
The Unfinished Cross
The Unfinished Cross, or The East Cross, gives us an insight into how High Crosses were constructed. The flat panels are prepared, ready for the master masons to tell the stories from the Book of Kells. They must have been interrupted during construction for this to remain unfinished.
It’s amazing to imagine this same spot as the ancient monks bring the Book of Kells high into the tower to evade the Viking horde- fire and flames illuminating the monastery as the attackers try to steal the precious treasures of Kells.
The Round Tower behind dates from 1076 and is unique in having five windows at the top pointing to the five ancient routes into Kells. It was here where the Book of Kells was stolen in a successful raid in 1007. While the books was found hidden under a sod several months later, it’s precious jewelled cover was never seen again.
St. Columba’s Church
St. Columba's Church tower marks the location of the original church of Kells, first recorded in the Annals of Ulster in 804AD.
The bell tower we see today was rebuilt in 1578. The spire on the bell tower was added in 1783 by the 1st Earl of Bective. The church was rebuilt in 1778.
As a visitor to Kells, the medieval streets guide your eye to this beautiful tower overlooking the town as you begin your exploration. It is at the centre of the monastic site and keeps watch over many of it’s treasures, waiting to be found.
Headfort Mausoleum
The Headfort Mausoleum was built in 1869 to house the remains of Thomas Taylor, the 2nd Marquis of Headfort.
This mystical gothic style building emerges from the surrounding woodland on the banks of the River Blackwater which was once part of the Headfort Estate.
Discovery
This “behind the scenes” photograph while creating the image of the Headfort Mausoleum has become a favourite.
It is the essence of intrigue and discovery as the structure is revealed with light amongst the woods. It is now included as part of the collection because of the story it conjures and the mystery it inspires.
Home Tree
We all have that landmark of home that sticks in our mind. Kells is surrounded by a rich landscape with numerous ancient trees that evoke so many vivid memories.
St. Kieran’s Well
St. Kieran’s Well (or St. Ciaran’s Well) is a natural spring through glacial rock formations that was once the site of pagan ritual before being incorporated into a christian holy well.
The springs are said to have healing powers for various ailments. The annual celebration day on the first Sunday in August once drew thousands of people, with Countess Markievicz addressing the crowd here in 1917.
It’s a wonderful place to visit for a serene moment, following the rituals of bathing your feet, hands and drinking from the fresh water.
“Behind the Scenes”
Get in touch for commercial licensing and custom commissions.